An Open Letter of Explanation to my Readers

My husband doesn’t read my books. I guess romance novels aren’t his thing. But he does read my blogs, and he recently pointed out that I haven’t blogged in 3 months. I knew it had been awhile, but didn’t realize it had been that long. However, I’m not surprised. There are many reasons why I haven’t been blogging, and I feel like maybe it’s time to explain.

If you’re a reader of mine, you probably feel like I’ve taken a step back from publishing, and in some ways you’d be right. I’ve kept up with my facebook and IG page, so at least I’m still active on social media. But I haven’t blogged or released a book in over 3 months. That may not seem long to some people, but to me it is. In the 5 years that I’ve been published, I’ve released a book on average every other month.

I learned several years ago that in order to maintain a certain level of income as an indie author it was imperative to have a steady stream of new releases. And for the most part, that hasn’t been too much of a challenge for me. I love to write. Plus, it’s my full time job. When you write for 8 + hours a day putting out a book every couple of months isn’t inconceivable. And for a long time it was worth it to me to crank out the books.

But things changed in the publishing industry in the last year. Many authors have weighed in on this recently, so I won’t go into all the details. Mostly, I’ll just say that in the last year my income has drastically declined. As a self-employed author, I know that I’m in a sales position. Therefore, I know that there will be some uncertainty with my income. But the truth is that prior to this year my income had been much more steady than it is now, and I had some sense of what was to come. Not the case anymore.

I’m not saying this to sound whiny or so that you’ll feel sorry for me. I still make adequate money, and I still feel incredibly lucky to have my dream job. I’m merely stating fact. And in order to explain the decisions I’ve made at the end of this year, this part needs to be shared.

Through all of this uncertainty, one thing is certain. My faith in God’s plan for my life. God gave me this gift. He planted it, he nurtured it and he set it on the right path. So, I’ve always known that good things are coming. I believe it with all my heart. Not only do I love writing, but I know it’s what I was made to do.

Knowing this, it became clear to me this year that I could no longer keep doing things the way I always had before. That’s why I signed with my wonderful agent, Stephanie. She’s been a godsend. A serious answer to prayer in so many ways. First, she’s an incredible agent. Second, she’s an amazing support to me. Third, she’s become a really good friend.

When my last couple of releases didn’t go as well as I’d hoped, I re-evaluated. At that time I had a book that was nearly finished that I had planned for a November release. But instead of releasing it, I had Stephanie pitch it to publishers. To my delight (and shock) it sold within the first couple of days of her pitching it. It sold to Entangled publishing and is set to release this summer.

After that, I took the next manuscript I was working on and gave it to Stephanie who is currently in the process of pitching that one.

There are so many reasons I’ve decided to go with publishers on these two books, but the main reason is that I need some help. I don’t want to keep doing it all on my own. I want a marketing team behind me. I want the prospect of seeing my books on store shelves. And I want the potential to have some sort of security when it comes to my income. That may or may not happen with a publisher, but I feel like I need to give this a valiant effort. I took a risk when I self-published and it paid off. I’m praying this will too.

Don’t worry, though. I’m not giving up on self-publishing entirely. I’m too much of a control freak for that. I do enjoy many aspects of publishing on my own, so my ideal situation is to be a hybrid author.

I do have a book I’ve been burning the midnight oil to finish that I plan to self-publish. It is set to release in the next month.

And that is why I haven’t blogged. I’ve written 3 manuscripts in the last couple of months. I know you haven’t seen them, but you will definitely see one soon, and one in the summer. Hopefully, the other will follow as well.

So, rest assured I’m writing. And I haven’t forgotten you. I’ve just been making some changes, and praying it will all work out.

Until next time, happy reading!

Amber

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

