For me there are no shades of grey – it’s black and white

Since I’m known as a writer of clean romances I’ve been bombarded with messages from readers asking what I think of the 50 Shades of Grey phenomenon. I’ve responded to each message personally but decided it might be good to publicly put this out there.

The truth is I’ve never read 50 Shades and I haven’t seen the movie, nor do I plan to do either. Therefore, I can’t in good conscience share an opinion on it. My only knowledge of the material is from blogs and articles I’ve read about it, and I don’t feel that is enough for me to form an accurate opinion.

That being said, my readers know that I write clean romances for a reason. I believe that as an author I have a responsibility to portray healthy and loving relationships in my books. I truly believe that words have power. I don’t think that an author can hide behind this idea that novels are fiction so all bets are off. Our fantasies can easily escalate into reality.

For me the issue of what I want to read and what I want my children to read is black and white. There are no shades of grey. I want to read wholesome books that portray healthy true love, and I suspect if you are a fan of mine then you want to do the same.  So while I won’t slam or condone 50 Shades of Grey, I will only state that I will continue to release clean fiction. I will continue to publish books about upstanding guys who treat girls like they are treasures, and girls who are strong enough to stand up for what they believe.

I will continue to write about the kind of relationships I want my children to experience. The kind of love that always heals, never hurts.

5 thoughts on “For me there are no shades of grey – it’s black and white

  1. I love your clean romance books it doesn’t matter what people say everyone has their opinions I have read Fifty shades of grey it was something I was not expecting when I read it but I do love your books and you are a great author

  2. I was trying to delete that post so I really write it I love your clean romance books I love cooper and London you create good characters

  3. Sorry I messed up my I meant I wanted to say that I really love how you write your characters and stores I love reading your books

  4. I haven’t read 50 Shades of Gray either, and I doubt I ever will. I’m more of a paranormal girl anyway.

    I greatly admire your stance on romances, and I’ve read several of them. Loved them all!

Leave a Reply

