Summer Survival Guide for an Indie Author

My kids have one day left of school and then they are out for the summer. Which simply means life as I know it is ending for the next few months. Gone are the days of sitting in my quiet office writing for 6-7 hours everyday. My house will be filled with chaos. The chaos of teenagers no less.

Which means, I have to make a plan.

I know many people think I have it made in the summer. I mean I work from home, right? Right, but the operative word here is “work.” I WORK from home. Yes, it’s true that I don’t have to worry about babysitters or sending my kids to daycare or endless summer camps because I have to work outside of the home and need a place for them to go. However, I can’t get much work done when my kids are home, which is hard since I’m self-employed. I sort of need to still generate an income in the summer.

Last summer I wrote and released 2 books during the summer months, and let me tell you it was hard. I brought my laptop with me everywhere and wrote while carting the kids to their music lessons and sports camps. It was overwhelming. So as the summer months loomed before me this year, I sat down and wrote a summer survival guide. First it was filled with things like soundproof walls and more locks on the doors. Just kidding. As tempting as that sounds I’d never do that. lol

No, truthfully, it wasn’t so much a survival guide as a goal oriented plan. I had to ask myself what I wanted to accomplish this summer both professionally and personally. First and foremost, I know that my time with my kids is running out. They are 12 and 15. I don’t have a ton of summers left with them. Second, I don’t want to be stressed out about pumping out 2 books like I was last summer. So, I’ve decided I will only release 1 book – BREAK THROUGH. It should release end of June/beginning of July. Other than that I will be spending time with my kids and doing some marketing. I figure I have 18 books out. Marketing all of them can definitely keep me busy!

So I have some fun contests, giveaways and sales planned for the summer. In fact, I will have a fun giveaway coming up later in the week which will focus on my summer books: HEAD ABOVE WATER, WINNING ME OVER and FALLING TO PIECES.

headabovewaterfront

 

Winning_Me_Over_cover

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000032_00032]

 

I also plan to do some fun contests revolving around ENGRAVED, my only adult mystery novel.

engraved ad

What are some things you’re doing to survive the summer months? Comment below. I’d love to hear from you!

 

2 thoughts on “Summer Survival Guide for an Indie Author

Leave a Reply

