Why I Love Being a Romance Author

Amber Garza_logo

 

I need to start this post with a confession: I never aspired to become a romance author. Now, if you’ve followed my blog for awhile you are probably pointing to the screen while muttering, “liar,” under your breath. Let me explain. I have always wanted to become a professional writer. It’s been my dream since I was a little girl. But I always thought I’d write serious literary works, psychological thrillers, or hard to solve mysteries. Never once did I think I’d write romance novels. Yet, when I sat down and put pen to paper, romance is what came pouring out. Who knew I was such a sap at heart? Certainly not me. You see, I didn’t always know I was addicted to love. That’s a recent epiphany.

But now that I write romance I can’t imagine writing anything else. I feel like the luckiest girl in the world. My job doesn’t even feel like work. It feels like fun.

There are so many reasons I like writing romance, but in the interest of keeping this short and sweet, I’ll share just a few with you here.

1. I get to peruse pictures of hot guys all day for “research.” Here is a sampling of some of the guys I’ve used as inspiration in my last couple of novels. I know. Hard work, huh?

 

 

sam
kyler

 

 

 

2. Another reason I love writing romance is that it’s perfectly acceptable to write sappy scenes….

breakfreequotepic1QuotpicHAW2paigeandcolt

 

3. But my favorite reason is that I get to fall in love over and over again with each book boyfriend I write. Who else gets to do that every day? Yep, I’d say I pretty much have the best gig in the world.

In the comments below share your favorite thing about romance – either writing or reading it.

 

2 thoughts on “Why I Love Being a Romance Author

Leave a Reply

