Psst. Want in on a little secret?

We’ve all heard the saying, “Don’t judge a book by its cover” , right? But the truth is that I think we all do. I know when I peruse a bookstore or scroll through Amazon, it’s the cover that determines whether I will check out a book or move right past it. If the cover doesn’t catch my eye, chances are I won’t be interested in it. Unless, of course, it’s by an author I love or it’s a book that’s been recommended to me by someone else. For instance, I really don’t like the cover for The Fault in our Stars by John Green, but I read the book anyway at the urging of a good friend.

I’ve been very fortunate to work with Lisa Eneqvist of Cover Me – Book Covers, so my covers are gorgeous. However, there is one cover of mine that I’m not sure entirely depicts the story correctly. The cover is beautiful and I love it, but I fear that it may give a false impression of what the story is about.

STAR STRUCK is about a sexy, bad boy rocker named Beckett who falls in love with a sweet, innocent girl named Star. Beckett is sarcastic and hard edged, not really very sweet. The book takes place in Seattle, not out in the country. However, I think the cover may give readers the impression that the story is about a sweet country boy who plays guitar. This is my fault really, as I chose the picture for the cover. I thought it was a lovely picture. But maybe that’s the problem. Star and Beckett’s relationship isn’t lovely. It’s crazy and wild and filled with chemistry and tension. So…you are probably wondering when I’m going to get to this big secret.

Here it is!

Next Sunday I’m getting together with my two cover models for STAR STRUCK – Doug Cornwell III and Jenna Barrerras, as well as with my photographer Juli Losee and my graphic artist. And we are going to reshoot the cover of STAR STRUCK. This cover will be a bit more edgy, a bit more rockerish (is that a word?). A bit more like Star and Beckett. After that I will reveal the revamped cover for STAR STRUCK as well as the cover for Ryker and Lola‘s story – LOVE STRUCK!

Stay tuned…there are a lot of exciting things going on!!

Leave a Reply

