Friday Fun: Music and books

I haven’t done a Friday Fun post in awhile and so I thought it was time! Those of you who know me well know that I love music just as much as I love books. Just like books music has a way of transporting me somewhere else. It moves me the same way a good book does. Because of this I usually write while listening to music. I generally don’t like to listen to happy music when writing. Mostly I choose moody and dark music. I’m not sure why. I think because it makes me feel such strong emotions and that helps to transcend into the scenes that I’m writing. So below I’ve given you a sampling of my playlists. Feel free to comment below to tell me what songs are on your playlist.

DAZZLE playlist:

Civil Wars: Poison and Wine, Falling and Tip of my Tongue

Skillet – Savior and Hero

Sarah McLachlan – Ice

Bruno MarsIt will Rain

Taylor Swift – Safe and Sound

Gungor – Beautiful Things

SHATTER  playlist:

Civil Wars: You are my Sunshine, Birds of a Feather, I’ve Got this Friend and Tip of my Tongue

Nikki Reed and Paul McDonald – You’re all I’ve Ever Needed, and Now That I’ve Found You

Taylor Swift – I Knew you were Trouble

Bruno Mars – It will Rain, and Grenade

Barlow Girl – Never Alone

FALLING TO PIECES playlist:

Civil Wars: To Whom it May Concern,  Falling, Dance Me to the End of Love, Twenty Years, and Tip of my Tongue

Nikki Reed and Paul McDonald: Now that I’ve Found You

Hunter Hayes – Wanted

Christina Perri – A Thousand Years

I’m sure you’re seeing a theme here. I tend to be a bit obsessed with the Civil Wars. They are amazing and the mood they evoke in me really helps me write. I hope you enjoyed reading what I like to listen to while writing. Let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

