I lost but it was worth it!

What a strange title for a post, huh? How could losing something be worth it? I’ve found that in my writing career, most of my victories have stemmed from losses actually. I’m sure you’re thinking I’m pretty crazy right about now. Well, actually, if you know me then you know I’m crazy. But stay with me here for a minute. Pursuing a writing career is not for the faint of heart. It requires thick skin, an ability to endure countless rejections and negative critiques and yet continue on. So, with all of my manuscripts I have indeed endured rejections and negative reviews. Yet, I muscle through and by some miracle (which I believe to be God’s grace) I have found people who do thoroughly enjoy my work.

Dazzle started out this way for me. A few years ago I particpated in the 3 day novel contest over labor day weekend. If you are not familiar with this, it’s a contest where you write a novel from midnight on Friday to midnight on Monday and then you submit it. If you win the contest, your book is published. If you lose you have the bragging rights to say you completed a novel in 3 days. Which one do you think I did? Yeah, bragging rights. You got it. Whoop-de-doo. I decided that if I was to take part in this contest I wanted to write something I never had attempted before. So I wrote a paranormal story which paralleled a bible story. When the novel didn’t win, I shelved it for use at a later date. After penning the Prowl Trilogy, I decided that YA really is the genre for me. As I tried to come up with an idea for a new series, Delaney’s Gift, the novel I wrote on that 3 day weekend came to mind. I knew if I tweaked it a little – made Delaney a teenager and added in the element of 9 other Warriors all gifted like her – it could really work. So…that’s how the Delaney’s Gift Series got it’s start. Really, Dazzle isn’t like that original manuscript very much, but it did stem from it. And I’m actually glad that the first story didn’t win, because I love this story so much better.

So even though I lost, it really was worth it in the end.

Leave a Reply

