Teaser time!

I’ve heard from a lot of my fans who are dying to read DAZZLE and I know it’s hard to wait! Thank you to all my readers for your encouragement as I finish writing my latest book. I promise I am working hard and the book will be released beginning of October. Check back for information on my virutal and physical launch party! But for now I thought I’d make the waiting a little easier with some juicy teasers!

Sam and Delaney (unedited teaser scene):

“Why are we in here?” I demand.

“I told you I wouldn’t give up until you said yes to a date with me and I meant it.” Sam moves closer to me. I back up until my shoulders hit the wall. In the tiny space Sam’s chest is practically pressed against mine.

I force out a light laugh even though my heart is beating faster than ever. “So what? You’re planning to hold me hostage in the janitor closet until I do?”

He chuckles. “Something like that.”

I smell bar soap and the faint traces of gasoline on his skin. Never in my life did I ever think I’d be this close to Sam. I know that if I were smart I’d run out of here right now. But I don’t. I stay put even though I know it’s all wrong. No one else makes me feel the way Sam does. It’s as if when I’m with him something dormant in me comes alive.

Delaney, Micah and Ariel (unedited teaser scene)

Micah bends over the girl, his dreadlocks hanging down to almost touch her. She is bent over, coughing into the sand. Wordlessly, he points and I see the familiar tattoo on the back of her neck. My gaze takes in the circular image. I know that under my long wet hair is the same one.

“She’s one of us,” I whisper, nodding to Micah who is running his fingers along his neck, no doubt thinking of his own marking. Micah and I have always known there were others – ten of us, to be exact. However, this is the first time we’ve found one. When I return my eyes to the girl, my breath hitches in my throat. “Why is her hair so short?” Bending down, I finger the jagged edges of her platinum blonde hair cut crudely above her ears. She flinches and turns to face me. Her large blue eyes are full of fear, causing terror to snake around my heart.

“Someone knows.” Micah’s eyes darken.

Delaney and Micah (unedited teaser scene – told from Micah’s perspective)

Delaney sighs. “Still, I’m sure that Ariel is keeping secrets. She knows more than she’s saying, and if you would look past her pretty face for one minute, you’d see that.”

A smile tugs at my lips. Is Delaney jealous? Is that what this is all about? I close the distance between us and grab both of her hands. “I get it, okay? I know you’re right and that’s why I’m trying to learn what I can about them. You and I are a team. We always have been and always will be.”

I let go of her hands and wrap my arms around her body, enfolding her in a tight hug. She leans in and rests her head on my shoulder.

Leave a Reply

