When Characters Escape

An interesting thing happens when I write. My characters escape from the page and run around doing things I never expected. And some characters are more difficult to control than others. In ENGRAVED, Amy was always keeping secrets from me. When I discovered them things would suddenly make sense and all was well, but I didn’t appreciate her hiding vital information. I mean, you would think she would trust me since I created her and everything.

In PROWL, Wesley was the one who toyed with me, but what did I expect? He was a pretty shady guy….

But in ENTICE and UNVEIL there were a couple of decisions that  Kenzie made that caused me to get a little annoyed. I had expected her to be a little more levelheaded than that.

Now I’m writing like mad in my new series – Delaney’s Gift. I have the first book DAZZLE carefully outlined as always and I’m moving right along. Then just like that I’m sideswiped by Sam. Now, if anyone in this book is going to give me grief I know it is Sam. He is a bad-boy in every sense of the word. He doesn’t listen to anyone and goes about life in his own way. However, his blatant disregard for me and my carefully constructed story is crazy.

Lucky for me, his unexpected turn just made the story a bit more interesting. I think instead of reigning him in, I’ll follow him down this rocky path and see where it leads. And just between you and me, I’m pretty sure I couldn’t stop him anyway. He’s pretty stubborn.

I’m curious to know if any other authors out there experience similar situations. If so, share with us here! I’d love to hear the experiences of your strong-willed characters…..

Leave a Reply

