Jumping off the hamster wheel

For the past seven years I’ve been running on a hamster wheel. I’ve worked so hard – written and rewritten, submitted and resubmitted – and it’s gotten me nowhere. Oh, I guess that’s not entirely true. I’ve learned a lot, grew a layer of thicker skin, met great people, honed my craft. So it’s not been a total waste. However, I’m still not published. I have a pile of rejection letters sky high, but very few acceptances.

Last Saturday I got two rejections for the same manuscript. I’m pretty sure that’s a record for me. Not only that but it was the first time I’d ever received a rejection on a Saturday. So, to get two on a holiday weekend seemed odd. It almost seemed like God was trying to tell me something. Hmmm. Funny how he works like that.

Then my mom brought up the subject of self publishing. Now, let me tell you that I’ve scoffed at the idea of self publishing for years. I’ve always thought it was the kiss of death – something you did if you weren’t talented enough to get traditionally published. In truth, I’ve always thought of it as giving up. I have intended to claw my way to the major NY publishers no matter how long it takes or difficult it is.

But as I began researching the self publishing option and spoke to friends and accquaintances who are published, I started to see it as a viable option. Self publishing doesn’t carry with it the same stigma it used to. Many authors are going that route because you can maintain artistic integrity, retain your rights and control your career. Since my books are generally turned down for being too Christian for secular publishers and too gritty for Christian publishers, I think this might be the perfect way for me to share the stories God put on my heart without having to compromise.

So, I think I’m ready to jump off the wheel. I hope you will support me in this scary, risky new adventure.

3 thoughts on “Jumping off the hamster wheel

  1. I think of you often, miss book-club, but mostly, miss you! I can so relate to your disappointment and rejections (“we’re going another direction…etc….”) the story of our past 3 years, only in the job market! I remember going into a bookstore, specifically to find your excerpt in “Chicken Soup for the Soul,” and taking a picture of it with such pride, in knowing that I had the honor of knowing you personally! You have such a story to share and such a passion to direct people to Jesus. I know you’ll do amazing things and can’t wait to hear about them. Much Love & Prayers!

Leave a Reply

