This is Not the End

I have to keep reminding myself that this is not the end…even if it feels like it is.

When I set out to write my first novel I was in seventh grade. I got about 150 pages in before I set it aside. It was just something I did for fun – I never intended to do anything with it. However, even at the time I knew it would be the first of many and that one day I would pursue publication of my writing. Five years ago when I began actively writing and submitting my novels I had grandiose ideas about the publishing world. I figured I’d write a grea book, submit it and voila, I’d be a published author! Well…as rosy as this picture is it’s not the reality. The reality is that the publishing world is a tough one to break into.

A little over a year ago I thought I’d finally realized my dream. One of my short stories was published in an edition of Chicken Soup for the Soul and I’d just signed on with a literary agent. It seemed only a matter of time before I’d walk into a Borders and see my novel on the shelf. Just the thought of that gives me goosebumps!

Without going into all the boring details, I’ve recently terminated the contract with my agent. And to be honest there are times when this feels like the end of my writing career. Like I will never get published and all I will have to show for my hard work is dozens of shelved manuscripts and thousands of rejection letters.

But I know that if I ever plan to get published I can’t wallow in this “Amber Pity-Party.” I must get back in the game. I must continue writing and submitting. I must keep praying and believing God will point me in the right direction.

Most importantly, I must never give up on my dream!

Leave a Reply

