What to Say When There’s Nothing to Say?

At least a few times a week people ask me what’s going on with my novel and to my chagrin I have to shrug and say, “nothing.” Now, don’t get me wrong.  I am grateful to be asked. I love that my friends are interested in my writing. It shows that they care about me; that they know my writing is an important part of my life.

No, the reason I feel irritated is because I don’t have anything to share. I’d love to respond by launching into some incredible story – I am a storyteller, after all – about the journey my manuscript is on at the moment. But the truth is that I have no idea where my manuscript is or who, if anyone, is looking at it.

My wonderful literary agent has informed me that during the “shopping stage” she will only be contacting me when there is something to share, so I know I must be patient. I mean, at least I haven’t gotten any rejections yet.

For now I will use my storytelling gifts to work on my latest manuscript and pray that soon I will have something to say….

One thought on “What to Say When There’s Nothing to Say?

  1. This waiting game is sooo hard. I am “agentless” and do my shopping on my own, but I know when I’m just waiting to hear back from those publishers how hard it can be. In the meantime, I know you’re working on three or four other equally brilliant works to keep you occupied and to get those juices going.

Leave a Reply

