Writer’s Block

It’s not often that I suffer from writer’s block. Sometimes I’ll have places in my novels where I struggle to work out a scene or where I seem to hit a “brick wall.” But usually if I take a break, read a book, or move past that scene and write something else I can usually get over it.

But not this time. I have been trying to work on editing “The American Dream.” Trying being the operative word.  The story needs a lot of work. After reading through the manuscript I’ve found gaping holes in the story – areas that need to be fleshed out. I feel like there is a wall in front of me and I have no idea how to begin climbing it. Like my imagination is a blank sheet of paper. Like I’m riding my bike through mud and debris.

For a couple of weeks now I’ve hardly penned a word. Finally this morning I wrote a page and brainstormed some add ins and plot changes. But I still haven’t found my groove, that wonderful sweet spot when the words flow seemlessly onto the page. I long to be in that spot….

So, I’ll continue plugging along – pushing through the mud and debris, climbing the massive wall and scrawling words onto the blank page….

Leave a Reply

