In Print!

The day “Chicken Soup for the Soul: Tough times, Tough People” came out my family and I loaded into the car and traveled to Barnes and Noble. I scoured the store for a while trying to figure out where the Chicken Soup books were located. Pretty soon I tired of searching and asked a salesman for help. He immediately brought me to the correct rack and pointed to the book. There it was!

“Is this the book you’re looking for?” he asked.

A huge smile stretched across my face and I reached for the book. “Yes, that’s it. That’s the one.”

After he walked away I peeled open the first page, skimmed the table of contents until my gaze landed on my name! MY NAME! I squealed – quietly – well, maybe not quietly enough. My nine-year-old son said, “Mom, calm down. We’re in a store.”

I said, “Eli, you might want to go in a different aisle if you’re embarrassed. This is my moment.”

I then looked up my story on page 52 and can’t even describe how incredible it felt to see my story on the page. Afterward I flipped to the back and found my bio. I had purposefully mentioned my children’s names because I knew that would be exciting for them. When my son saw his name in print he jumped up and down saying, “We’re famous! We’re famous!”

“Eli, calm down. We’re in a store,” I reminded him.

As we were leaving the store my daughter turned to my son and said, “When I grow up I want to be a writer just like mom.”

“Yeah, that would be cool, but I think I’d rather be a teacher,” Eli said.

“You can be two things,” my daughter said. “Mom is. I’m going to be at least two things.” That’s my girl!

I pray my kids will always follow their dreams no matter how big or small. It’s an amazing feeling when you’re dream comes true.

One thought on “In Print!

  1. I know that I have not known you for very long, but I have seen your heart and it is beautiful! I wish I could have thrown you, the party you deserve, but just know that I am blessed to know you and I’ll shamlessly name drop (your name) anytime I can!! My one and only, PUBLISHED friend! (-:

Leave a Reply

