Rejected…

Can I be entirely honest? I mean, what’s the point of having a blog if I can’t tell the truth, right? Okay – here it is. My big confession: I HATE rejection letters.

Alright, so maybe that wasn’t a total shocker.

Mostly, though I can’t stand form rejection letters. They go something like this:

Dear writer,

Thank you for your interest in our publishing house/agency. We enjoyed reading your manuscript. However, it doesn’t fit in with our needs at the moment. Best of luck in the future.

Sincerely,

Publisher/Agent

Okay, what does that even mean? How come my book doesn’t fit? Be more specific. Like, are you no longer accepting Adult Christian Fiction? Maybe now you only accept children’s picture books. Or maybe the truth is my book wasn’t good enough. Maybe it was rough in spots, needs more work.

See, now I’ll sit around wondering why the book got rejected for hours, maybe days. I wish all my rejections came with a real reason why it didn’t get picked up. Even if the reason is that it sucks. That would actually be more helpful than “it doesn’t fit with our current needs.”

A venti peppermint mocha doesn’t fit my current need to lose weight but I still drink it. Happily, I might add.

Thanks for letting me vent. Now I’ll get back to my mocha.

And await my next rejection letter 🙂

Leave a Reply

