The Written Word

I’ve always loved the written word. My mom says that when I was a toddler my crib was not lined with stuffed animals, but with books. She said I would leaf through them, eyes wide with excitement.

My first attempt at writing a novel was in middle school. I got about 100 pages in before abandoning it.

When my daughter started preschool I decided it was time to stop talking about writing and start doing it. That was the year I wrote “Confessions of a Harried Housewife,” my first novel. My second novel, “Abandoning Alice” followed, and then “Diapering Diva” was my third. All of them were in the chic lit genre. They were all about quirky, flawed women who were trying their best to survive, a concept I could totally relate to. The only one of the three that garnered interest with publishers and agents was the first one. 

God had other plans for my writing though and he took me another direction. A book had been on my heart for a long time but I’d been sort of running from it. God showed me in many ways, which I won’t bore you with right now, that I needed to write for him. I shelved the first three novels and dove head first into my fourth.

“Engraved” is my story. It’s a fictionalized account of a time in my life when God revealed his great love and grace for me. It’s a picture of God’s uncondtional, unrelenting love for his children.

Leave a Reply

